Heavenly Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

28 Nov

Wow!  I was just checking out my blog, when I saw this post – not posted!  It is called Mommy Alzheimers.  I purposely put this off to take a picture of these after I baked them and guess what…I don’t think I took the picture.  Oh well, here is the recipe – my kids loved these.

When I was young I would walk into the house after school and smell the wonderful creations my mom had baked for us earlier that day.  It was always fun to go home, sometimes we would get cake, others cookies – two of my favorites to this day are snickerdoodles and the chocolate cookies she would bake.  Our house always smelled tremendous!  At least that is how I remember it.  Now that I am a stay-at-home mom, I would like to give my children the same memories.  Today I found a recipe for pumpkin muffins, they smell amazing!  Here is the recipe, it is actually from Libby’s, though I added a little vanilla.

Heavenly Pumpkin Muffins

  • 3 – cups all purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp plus 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 – tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 – cups granulated sugar
  • 1 – 15 ounce can Libby’s Pure Pumpkin
  • 4 – large eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Paper-line or grease 30 muffin cups.

COMBINE flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt in large bowl. Combine sugar, pumpkin, eggs, oil, vanilla and juice in large mixer bowl; beat until just blended. Add flour mixture to pumpkin mixture; stir just until moistened. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling 3/4 full.

BAKE for 25 to 30 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Store muffins in covered container.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 – 8 oz. pkg cream cheese (softened)
  • 2 sticks of butter (softened)
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla

In a large bowl, beat together the butter and cream cheese with an electric mixer. With the mixer on low-speed, add the powdered sugar a cup at a time until smooth and creamy. Beat in the vanilla extract.

Leave a comment